[Skip to Content]

Northwest Excellence in Journalism 2020 Awards


The new deadline is Thursday, March 4, at 11:59 PM PST.


Thank you for your interest in entering the 2020 Northwest Excellence in Journalism contest.

This competition is one of the largest of its kind in the nation and honors journalists across SPJ Region 10, which covers Alaska, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Oregon.

All proceeds from this contest support the efforts of SPJ Western Washington Professional and SPJ Oregon Territory Chapters. In Washington, contest proceeds fund scholarships for student journalists. In Oregon, proceeds help pay for our lobbyist, who works on our behalf in Salem to improve public records law.

Please make an account to submit entries. We've updated our categories this year and added new eligibility guidelines based on feedback from our members. Please read the rules carefully to determine how you and your newsroom may be affected by these changes. A summary of changes and category descriptions is here.

Winners will be announced in-person in May and June at the respective annual banquets held by the Western Washington and the Oregon Territory chapters, and online immediately after.

We look forward to reading your excellent work!

Questions? Need help?

Ashley Hiruko, SPJ Western Washington President
April Ehrlich, SPJ Oregon President